CEO appointed to Workforce Taskforce

Dr Stephen Judd has been appointed to a Federal Government expert Taskforce to develop a wide-ranging workforce strategy, focused on supporting safe, quality aged care for senior Australians.


“I am very pleased to be able to contribute to this Taskforce given the workforce is and will continue to be a major challenge for the aged care sector,” Dr Judd said. “I look forward to ensuring there are options for flexible innovation and focused education to meet the future needs of aged care service users.”

Announcing the Taskforce, the Minister for Aged Care, Ken Wyatt said everything would be considered but the two overriding considerations were safety and quality. “The Taskforce will reach out to senior Australians and their families, consumer organisations, informal carers, aged care workers and volunteers. It will also consult with many others including unions, health professionals, universities and the health, education, employment and disability sectors, ” Mr Wyatt said.

The Taskforce will be led by Professor John Pollaers and will reference the June 2017 report of the Senate Community Affairs References Committee inquiry into the future of the aged care sector workforce, the workforce-related observations in the government commissioned Legislated Review of Aged Care 2017 and the recently released Review of National Aged Care Quality Regulatory Processes.

Minister Wyatt said the Taskforce will explore short, medium and longer term options to boost supply, address demand and improve productivity for the aged care workforce. It will oversee and sponsor a combination of working summits, public submission processes, technical and specialist groups to inform its work, and is scheduled to report to the Minister by 30 June 2018.

Taskforce membership:

Chair - Professor John POLLAERS
Dr Michele BRUNIGES – Secretary, Department of Education and Training, Australian Government
Dr Penny FLETT – Pro Vice-Chancellor University of Western Australia
Dr Stephen JUDD – CEO Hammondcare
Professor Linda KRISTJANSON – Vice-Chancellor Swinburne University
Alan LILLY – Chief Executive, Blue Cross 
Professor Andrew ROBINSON – Co-Director of Wicking Dementia Research and Education Centre, Tasmania, and Director Dementia Training Australia
Catherine RULE – Acting Deputy Secretary, Department of Health, Australian Government
Tim SHACKLETON – Chief Executive Officer, Rural Health West
Pat SPARROW – Chief Executive Officer, Aged & Community Services Australia 
Dr Adrian TURNER – CEO, Data61, CSIRO
Ian YATES – Chief Executive, Council on the Ageing